Are communication methods for Intelligent Items cumulative?


So I’ve been looking at the rules for Intelligent Magic Items because I have a Bladebound magus in my group, and it looks as though Empathy -> Speech -> Telepathy is almost like an upgrade path of communication methods for intelligent items.

My question is, does a magic item that can communicate via telepathy also have the ability to speak and communicate empathically, or is each type of communication a separate ability and it would have to have BOTH telepathy and speech in order to speak?