As a sword and board Eldritch Knight do I need to put away my sword on my turn if I want to use Shield as a reaction?

Without Warcaster, I can’t cast spells with somatic components if I have both a shield and a sword in my hands. Putting my sword away or dropping it is a free action, however you can’t do free actions outside your turn. So if I want to be able to cast Shield on myself as a reaction, do I need to always put my sword away at the end of my turn? (This also means I won’t be able to capitalize on opportunity of attacks).