As I descend vertically when affected by Feather Fall, can I also move horizontally?


The feather fall spell (PHB, p. 239) says:

Choose up to five falling creatures within range. A falling creature’s rate of descent slows to 60 feet per round until the spell ends. If the creature lands before the spell ends, it takes no falling damage and can land on its feel, and the spell ends for that creature.

Am I able to move horizontally as I descend (to "glide", basically), or can I only fall vertically in a straight line, directly down to the point below me when the spell was cast? Or is this simply something that isn’t specified and is something that the DM is expected to resolve?

This came up in a game I ran a couple of weeks ago. Luckily, this was asked preemptively as they were planning how to storm an orc camp, and the plan was changed before I was pressed for an answer, so I was able to dodge making a ruling entirely. However, if it were to come up again, it is simply up to me (the DM), or is there anything that suggests one or the other ruling?