Can a character with darkvision see into Hunger of Hadar?

Can a character with darkvision see into Hunger of Hadar? This assumes the character is not inside the spells area, and therefore not blinded.

This has come up a few times on this stackexchange, but never really answered.

The hunger of Hadar spell (PHB, p. 251) creates a black void of darkness, which cannot be penetrated by light. This means that no one can see in […]

is stated in this question, without any rules to back it up.

I’m not even going to go into the debate about whether darkvision can see through hunger of hadar

From this question

Therefore I think a seperate question is warranted.