Can a player spend a fate point to declare it a full moon?

Is a player able to spend a fate point, to declare it a full moon? For instance, if they have a lycanthrope character who gains more power in the full moon.

I know a fate point can be spent to declare an arrival/having an item and such like that, which is unrelated to an aspect and more setting related. Would this "it’s a full moon tonight" also be permissible to try to declare under the official rules as they are written?

Or is it too much to do with the broader setting, as opposed to an individual character, making it GM only control and decision?