Can a sorcerer cast the same spell twice if enough spell slots are available?


In D&D 5e, let’s say that I have two level-1 spell slots available and want to cast Burning Hands. On one turn, I use one of the available spell slots to cast Burning Hands. On my next turn, I have one additional spell slot available. Am I allowed to use it for Burning Hands, or do I need to select a different spell to use the remaining spell slot?

I am asking this because I was told by someone more experienced that it doesn’t work that way, but I thought the rules said otherwise.