Can a Sorcerer quicken a Wand spell?


My Sorcerer has a Wand of Lightning Bolt.

While holding it, you can use an action to expend 1 or more of its Charges to cast the Lightning Bolt spell (save DC 15) from it. For 1 charge, you cast the 3rd-level version of the spell.

He asked whether he could use Quick Spell Metamagic to cast the Lightning Bolt as a bonus action.

When you cast a spell that has a casting time of 1 action, you can spend 2 sorcery points to change the casting time to 1 bonus action for this casting.

One the one hand, the item specifically mentions the caster is using his action. On the other, the item also says the caster is casting the spell, so metamagics can apply. My opinion is that specific beats general, and that the Sorcerer cannot do this. The wand could relate to any spell, with longer or shorter casts times and would always require an action. But I wanted to make sure that is RaW.