Can a spellcasting focus be used in the casting of a spell with no Material components

I have looked for any rules on this and cannot find any, and before you say "It doesn’t matter flavour however you like" I have a specific example.

In the alchemist subclass for the artificer class the 5th level feature alchemist Savant reads:

Whenever you cast a spell using your alchemist’s supplies as the spellcasting focus

does this mean that if the spell has no matterial componants that it cannot use this feature?