Can a standard Kobold Warrior make a Sneak Attack with a spear?

The standard Kobold Warrior has the Sneak Attack ability, which specifies:

The kobold warrior deals an extra 1d4 precision damage to flat-footed creatures.

But the general description of the Sneak Attack ability in the glossary says:

When the monster Strikes a creature that has the flat-footed condition with an agile or finesse melee weapon, an agile or finesse unarmed attack, or a ranged weapon attack, it also deals the listed precision damage. For a ranged attack with a thrown weapon, that weapon must also be an agile or finesse weapon.

The preface to Creature Abilities also says:

The statistics for individual creatures might alter the traits, the number of actions, or other rules of these abilities. Anything noted in a specific creature’s stat block overrides the general rules for the ability below.

The only weapons the kobold warrior has are a spear and a sling. Does this mean that he can only use his sneak attack with the sling (since a spear doesn’t have the agile or finesse traits)? Or is its own description of the Sneak Attack ability overriding the general one, and removing all the prerequisites?