Can a Steel Defender or a Alchemical Homunculus use a Spell Storing Item?


I have seen from many different sources the thought process that you can have your Alchemical Homunculus or your Steel Defender use your spell storing item. This would let them take up concentration for an additional spell.

However the more I look into it the less I think you can. I wanted to get clarification from you folks.

Spell Storing item:

While holding the object, a creature can take an action to produce the spell’s effect from it, using your spellcasting ability modifier. If the spell requires concentration, the creature must concentrate.

Alchemical Homunculus:

In combat, the homunculus shares your initiative count, but it takes its turn immediately after yours. It can move and use its reaction on its own, but the only action it takes on its turn is the Dodge action, unless you take a bonus action on your turn to command it to take the action in its stat block or the Dash, Disengage, Help, Hide, or Search action.

Steel Defender:

In combat, the steel defender shares your initiative count, but it takes its turn immediately after yours. It can move and use its reaction on its own, but the only action it takes on its turn is the Dodge action, unless you take a bonus action on your turn to command it to take one of the actions in its stat block or the Dash, Disengage, Help, Hide, or Search action.

I added emphasis on only. This completely negates the ability to use the Spell Storing Item in combat doesn’t it?