Can a target escape a Wild Shaped Portable Hole/Bag of Holding

Inspired by this question here: Can you use Wild Shape to meld a Bag of Holding into your Wild Shape form while creatures are inside the Bag of Holding?

Portable holes state that you can use a strength check to escape it and appear within 5 feet of the holder, so if you have a creature in a portable hole, and then wild shape into some form, does that creature still have the ability to escape the hole using a strength check?

Does a Bag of holding follow the same, either trapping a target or allowing escape?

Does that mean a party could trick a big bad into the hole via a looney-toons style pitfall trap, pick it up, Wild shape, and then just wait for them to suffocate? That sounds ridiculous, and hilarious.