A wizard has a summoned familiar within 100 feet that is currently idle and has Feign Death cast on them by another PC. Would the wizard still be able to issue telepathic commands to their familiar?
Specifically, while Feign Death states that they appear dead and are incapacitated and blind, they aren’t listed as being unconscious.
Find Familiar doesn’t state that issuing telepathic commands requires an action (which you can’t do while incapacitated), whereas it does state that seeing through your familiar’s eyes requires an action as does dismissing it.
I was DMing a game where this occurred and I hastily ruled that the wizard was unable to issue commands, but I am second guessing myself after the fact. And knowing my PCs this situation is likely to happen again.