Can absorb elements be triggered on attacks that require a saving throw or be paralyzed, incapacitated… and elemental damage on a failed save?


Say an enemy is casting a spell or using an ability that forces the player to make a saving throw or be "conditioned and take X elemental damage".

Does absorb elements go off if the save is failed? Or because of the condition effect, does that mean the reaction can’t be used if you fail the save, take damage, and conditioned? Or even can it be cast before the save (and wasted if the save passes)?