Can Armor of Hexes be used to cancel a ranged spell attack?

Can Armor of Hexes be used to cancel a ranged spell attack like Scorching Ray? Does one ray count as an attack roll because you roll to hit?

Armor of Hexes

"At 10th level, your hex grows more powerful. If the target cursed by your Hexblade’s Curse hits you with an attack roll, you can use your reaction to roll a d6. On a 4 or higher, the attack instead misses you, regardless of its roll."

Scorching Ray

"You create three rays of fire and hurl them at targets within range. You can hurl them at one target or several. Make a ranged spell attack for each ray. On a hit, the target takes 2d6 fire damage."