Can crown of madness be twinned?

I’m looking to build a sorcerer focused on the twinned spell metamagic and which spells I can use with it (Haste!! :). Looking around I came across these tweets from Jeremy Crawford stating that Dragon’s Breath cannot be twinned. From my understanding, this is because the effects of it can damage multiple people. Contrary to spells like haste, which can also damage multiple targets with the extra attack, this spell explicitly states the second set of targets. The spell reads:

Until the spell ends, the creature can use an action to exhale energy of the chosen type in a 15-foot cone. Each creature in that area must make a Dexterity saving throw, taking 3d6 damage of the chosen type on a failed save, or half as much damage on a successful one.

So I was wondering what other spells on my list are affected by this and I came across Crown of madness, which states the following:

The charmed target must use its action before moving on each of its turns to make a melee attack against a creature other than itself that you mentally choose.

So this spell also has a second set of targets explicit in its description. This led me to this question:

Can Crown of Madness be twinned?

Note: While researching this, I found this similar question on RPG.SE, which is about the spell Enemies Abound. I think this is different, because in Crown of Madness the spell caster himself chooses the other creature that is damaged. So more of a direct target of the spell than in Enemies Abound which simply makes the creature perceive more enemies. So I do think this is not a duplicate.