Can Dispel Magic be used on a specific magical effect without removing other spells?

During tonight’s game, the party’s wizard became confused because of a failed save against Yeenoghu’s flail, which had the effect of:

The target must succeed on a DC17 Wisdom saving throw or be affected by the confusion spell until the start of Yeenoghu’s next turn.

The wizard was in this position because they’d had multiple buff spells placed on them like Shapechange, Haste, and something else.

However, being confused was a big problem that the party decided needed to go. So the cleric cast Dispel Magic with the intent to just target the magical effect of confusion caused by Yeenoghu.

Dispel Magic says:

Choose one creature, object, or magical effect within range. Any spell of 3rd level or lower on the target ends. For each spell of 4th level or higher on the target, make an ability check using your spellcasting ability. The DC equals 10 + the spell’s level. On a successful check, the spell ends.

With this in mind, the question I have is two-fold.

First all, is the confusion effect targetable by dispel magic? It seems like it should be because the effect is described to be like a specific spell’s effect.

Secondly, if the cleric casts dispel magic on the wizard to end the confusion, can they do so without risking removing all of the other buff spells?