Can fighter use Commander’s strike when he only has one attack?

Question is about Battle Master maneuver. From PHB (74):

Commander’s Strike. When you take the Attack action on your turn, you can forgo one of your attacks and use a bonus action to direct one of your companions to strike. When you do so, choose a friendly creature who can see or hear you and expend one superiority die. That creature can immediately use its reaction to make one weapon attack, adding the superiority die to the attack’s damage roll.

Archetype is acquired at 3rd level and fighter, in general, will have only one attack. If attack is used for maneuver, would it be an attack at all?

From attack description, PHB(192):

The most common action to take in combat is the Attack action, whether you are swinging a sword, firing an arrow from a bow, or brawling with your fists. With this action, you make one melee or ranged attack.

But in this case fighter will not, say, swing his sword. So it doesn’t fit with description.

If a fighter has only one attack, can he forgo it to use commander’s strike?