Can “Friends” be used to to make any creature in the universe hostile?


Friends is a cantrip with a range of self that reads:

For the duration, you have advantage on all Charisma checks directed at one creature of your choice that isn’t hostile toward you. When the spell ends, the creature realizes that you used magic to influence its mood and becomes hostile toward you.

Since the range is “Self” and the spell does not specify restrictions apart from being non-hotile do usual targeting restrictions apply? If not then could a PC with this cantrip make any creature, on any plane of existence, hostile? This seems rather powerful although not easily useful.