Can I get more than one level from one action / encounter in Pathfinder?

I have similar situation to described in here Can a character gain two levels with the same encounter? albeit in another system, as we are playing Pathfinder instead of D&D.

My character is 4th level and has an opportunity to destroy an very evil artifact, action that would give him enough XP to reach level 7 instantly. That’s not the problem because I’m hoping to join the party that’s level 7 already, but I want to know if it would break game rules, which ones, and as a possible bonus overall game mechanics and balance issues implications if that would happen.