Can the Destructive Wave spell be triggered on a ship by striking the deck or an open container of earth (“ground”)?


My 9th-level Tempest Domain cleric is about to embark on a sea voyage to the ice sea. I realized that my new destructive wave domain spell requires that “You strike the ground” to trigger it.

Is there a way to trigger this spell while on a ship?

We have been warned there will be encounters on the journey at sea.

I am trying to head off a debate with my DM when I try to use this spell at sea.

  • Since we walk on the deck, can that be considered ground (i.e. can I strike the deck)?
  • Like vampires that take dirt along to survive sea voyages, can a bucket of dirt (ground) be used (I strike the ‘ground’ in the bucket!) to trigger the spell?
  • Or if I walk onto an iceberg, since I have a ring of water walking, can that be considered ground?

Tempest gods are followed by seafaring people as storms impact them greatly. So it would seem kind of odd not to be able to use a unique Tempest Domain spell at sea.