Can the Revised Ranger’s Beast Companion be an independent mount?

The mounted combat rules say that you can either control a mount, making it move on your turn — but its action can only be Dash, Disengage, or Dodge — or have it be independent, meaning it can do its actions but you have no control over it.

Now, if a ranger uses their Beast Companion as a mount, could they direct it as they usually do when unmounted and still have its full array of actions, since the beast still acts on their own initiative?