Can Two Artificers Make a Bag of Holding Bomb


So, the artificer class has the Infuse Item class feature, which allows it to make "effectively a prototype" of a permanent Bag of Holding using the Replicate Magic Item Artificer Infusion, which, as far as I can tell, is an exact replica of a real Bag of Holding, only temporary. It has all rules text of a Bag of Holding, including the following:

Placing a bag of holding inside an extradimensional space created by a handy haversack, portable hole, or similar item instantly destroys both items and opens a gate to the Astral Plane. The gate originates where the one item was placed inside the other. Any creature within 10 feet of the gate is sucked through it to a random location on the Astral Plane. The gate then closes. The gate is one-way only and can’t be reopened.

It was already ruled in the text of those items that Bag of Holding is a "similar item", meaning placing a Bag of Holding inside a Bag of Holding instantly buys all creatures within 10 feet of it a one way ticket to the Astral Plane.

So then, is there anything at all to stop a party from having two party members, both artificers (since a single one cannot make two bags of holding) from creating a "Bag of Holding Bomb" by strapping the bags together, lobbing them at the enemy, and then placing one bag in the other with a spell like Telekinesis?

If the Telekinesis spell is readied as a reaction to the bag being within 10 feet of an enemy, there would then be no saving throw or other way for them to avoid the warp, not even a legendary action.

I am aware of tricks a DM could use to avoid this, maybe the creature is smart enough to recognize the danger and ready reaction of it’s own to steal the bags, maybe someone in the Astral Plane gets annoyed at all the new visitors and starts sending them back, with some extra planar creatures tagging along as a bonus, etc.

But DM tricks aside, is the "Bag of Holding Bomb" RAW? In RAW, is it unavoidable, or is ruling that the creature can make a DEX save since it is being used as an attack still RAW? (I assume not, unless I missed something)