Can you end Heat Metal’s disadvantage by dropping an affected weapon?

Heavily related to my previous question (possibly a duplicate in a way) heat metal states:

If a creature is holding or wearing the object and takes the damage from it, the creature must succeed on a Constitution saving throw or drop the object if it can. If it doesn’t drop the object, it has disadvantage on attack rolls and ability checks until the start of your next turn…

If you are suffering disadvantage from holding a weapon affected by heat metal, does dropping the weapon remove the disadvantage or does the phrase “If it doesn’t drop the object” only refer to the possibility of dropping it at the time of the casting?