Can you move through a Wall of Fire?

When casting Wall of Fire, “each creature within its area must make a Dexterity saving throw. On a failed save, a creature takes 5d8 fire damage, ar half as much damage on a successful save.”

Later in the spell description, it states “A creature takes the same damage when it enters the wall for the first time on a turn or ends its turn there.”

So when a player enters the wall, does he/she get to make a DEX save to avoid/reduce damage? Does that count as the “same damage?” i.e., damage under the same parameters?