Can you Ready an attack with the trigger ‘enemy enters my reach’? If so, will you interrupt their movement on a hit?

Without using any feats, can a player with a reach weapon set that weapon to receive a ‘charge’ by the enemy, attacking them when they enter range? Or even a non-reach weapon? That is, can a player commit to using their attack action when an enemy crosses an arbitrary line with their movement? (Examples: Ready my glaive to attack when the orc gets 10′ away from me. Ready my shortbow to attack when the dragon enters 80′ from me. Ready my dagger in case the kobold comes adjacent.)

If this is possible, and the player’s attack hits, does it have any effect on the enemy’s remaining movement or other actions?

I think the answers are yes, and no, respectively.