Can you tell if someone transfers Hunter’s Mark or Hex if the original target is reduced to 0HP?


The spells hunter’s mark and hex both have this clause:

If the target drops to 0 hit points before this spell ends, you can use a bonus action on a subsequent turn of yours to [mark/curse] a new creature.

Both of these spells have spellcasting components that would be observable to another creature when the spell is cast. If I want to mark or curse someone, anyone nearby will know.

If the original target is reduced to 0HP, is it observable in any way should the caster choose to transfer their mark/curse to another creature? Or is this essentially untraceable after the initial casting?

Obviously for this question, I am ignoring a sorcerer’s Subtle Spell metamagic. We can also assume that this is not from stealth; the caster is not trying to hide what they are doing, this is more about whether or not there is anything to hide beyond the initial casting.


Related:

  • Is a creature aware that a Hex or Hunter's Mark spell has been cast on it? (but related to the initial casting from stealth)
  • Are Hunter's Mark and similar spells noticeable to the target? (duplicate of the above, still about the original casting)
  • Does moving the curse from the Hex spell to a new target have any spell components? (regarding if this transferring part has components)