Can you use a Wall of Sand to blind a creature without obscuring it?


Recently, I was taking a look through the Wizard spell list, and the Wall of Sand spell sparked my interest:

You conjure up a wall of swirling sand on the ground at a point you can see within range. You can make the wall up to 30 feet long, 10 feet high, and 10 feet thick, and it vanishes when the spell ends. It blocks line of sight but not movement. A creature is blinded while in the wall’s space and must spend 3 feet of movement for every 1 foot it moves there.

Blinded is a relatively powerful condition, and applying it without a save seems very strong. However, the Wall of Sand spell also blocks line of sight. If a creature also becomes heavily obscured by the wall, it would negate many of the benefits of applying the blinded condition. Can the Wall of Sand spell blind a creature without obscuring it, under the Variant: Playing on a Grid rule?