Can you use animate dead on something that was previously animated by the same spell?

If a zombie or skeleton that you have animated with Animate Dead is reduced to 0 hit points, can you reanimate it using Animate dead?

The spell description only says:

Choose a pile of bones or a corpse of a Medium or Small humanoid within range.

Well presumably when a skeleton reduces to 0 hit points it becomes a pile of bones. Even if the bones are damaged, the spell does not require ‘unbroken bones’.

As a dungeon master I might require using the Mending cantrip to restore broken bones to some degree, however I can’t find any specific ruling.

I’m looking for a rules focused answer rather than a fluffy home rule answer 🙂