Can you use the Ranger Slayer’s Prey Twice a turn? [duplicate]

From Xanathars:

Slayer’s Prey Starting at 3rd level, you can focus your ire on one foe, increasing the harm you inflict on it. As a bonus action, you designate one creature you can see within 60 feet of you as the target of this feature. The first time each turn that you hit that target with a weapon attack, it takes an extra 1d6 damage from the weapon.

It says you that the first time each turn that you hit THAT target you deal 1d6, so, that being said, can you:

Turn 1: Mark a creature with Slayer Prey Turn 2: Hit the creature with Slayer Prey, gaining the 1d6 bonus damage, design another creature with Slayers Prey and gain the 1d6 bonus damage again?

My thoughts are: You are hiting the secord creature for the first time in this turn, so this should work, right?