Class ability can be used “When you make your first attack”; is it before or after rolling the dice? [closed]

Barbarian Reckless Attack is one of them:

When you make your first attack on your turn, you can decide to attack recklessly…

When exactly “you make your first attack”??

  1. When you declare the attack / target.
  2. Before Rolling the Dice.
  3. After rolling the dice, but before knowing hit / miss.
  4. After deciding hit / miss, before rolling for damage.
  5. After damage is dealt.

P.S.: This is about the wording, not about the barbarian ability. It is included only as an example of the wording appearing in official text.