Could a creature, made by the Simulacrum spell, cast the Create Magen spell?


Could a creature, made by the 7th level Simulacrum spell, cast the Create Magen spell (from Icewind Dale: Rime of the Frostmaiden) as a means of bypassing the hit point maximum reduction?

It seems like a character could resonably create a simulacrum of themselves then ask them to cast Create Magen. Upon finishing the Create Magen spell the simulacrum could order the magen to listen to and obey the character as if they had created the magen. Thereby allowing the caster to avoid the hit point reduction.
Is this the case? or is something missing here? one of my concerns is that, if this is the case, a player character could conceivably make an army of magens with few repercussions. Obviously a DM will have the final say, but what do you guys think?