Could you combine an herb witch and a veneficus witch archetype through the use of the “Extra Hex; Cauldron” feat?


The rules about archetypes state that archetypes must not replace the same core class features. I am not sure how this applies to the herb witch archetype and the veneficus witch archetype.

  • Herb witch demands you to take the “Cauldron Hex” at 2nd level.
  • Veneficus witch replaces the 2nd level hex with the “Toxic Words” extradordinary ability.

However would it be viable to take the “Extra Hex” feat at first level and choose the “Cauldron Hex” so that it would not interfere with the 2nd level of veneficus witch?

For referrence:

Herb Witch

Veneficus Witch

Class Archetype Rules

A character can take more than one archetype (sometimes called “stacking” archetypes) and garner additional alternate class features, but none of the alternate class features can replace or alter the same class feature from the base class as another alternate class feature. For example, a fighter could not be both an armor master and a brawler, since both archetypes replace the weapon training 1 class feature with something different. See FAQ at right for additional information.