Could you switch your target between two creatures under the effects of sanctuary until you succeed your safe?


The spell sanctuary states

You ward a creature within range against Attack. Until the spell ends, any creature who Targets the warded creature with an Attack or a harmful spell must first make a Wisdom saving throw. On a failed save, the creature must choose a new target or lose the Attack or spell. This spell doesn’t protect the warded creature from area Effects, such as the explosion of a Fireball.

The effects of which are quite obvious when one single creature is warded. However, I am wondering how this would work when two creatures are warded and both within range. Could a monster switch between targetting either of them until they succeed on their save?

As an example: two clerics – Alice and Jasper – are ambushed by an powerful vampire named James, they are fiercely opposed to killing and so instead of harming James they both cast sanctuary on themselves. James attempts to bite Alice but fails his save, he then switches his target to Jasper but fails his save again, now what happens? The spell seems to state that he is to choose a new target and does not appear to prohibit targetting Alice once again, however, that does seem to defeat the purpose of the spell.

So, what happens RAW? and RAI?