Curse of Strahd – Does NPC ability trump Inspiration rule?


In Curse of Strahd, the players can encounter an NPC with a special ability.

Is the NPC’s use of this ability supposed to be an example of "specific beats general", where their ability as written within the context of the module overrides the PHB limitation that

You either have inspiration or you don’t—you can’t stockpile multiple “inspirations” for later use.

or

are we to understand that the ability comes with the implied clause, "subject to the normal rules of Inspiration" or "as long as that character is not currently Inspired".

Related: How is this character useful as an ally in Curse of Strahd?