D&D Hexblade with Pact of Blade, DC check?


Hello my DM and I are having a disagreement over how the Pact Weapon from POB is summoned.

Specifically, as a Hexblade with POB, when I choose to summon my pact weapon as whatever, sword, axe, anything, do i have to roll a D20 to see if i successfully call it to me? Irregardless if I’m changing its form or if I’m recalling its previous form.

I’ve done some looking into the subject and haven’t found a single reference to one being needed as the POB description states;

"You can use your action to create a pact weapon in your empty hand. You can choose the form that this melee weapon takes each time you create it."

Am i missing something? His view seems to be POB is the same as the pact I’ve made with my Patron (aka simply the fact I’m a warlock and that’s the backstory of how we have/do magic) and thus just as i need a DC to cast say Eldritch blast, or any other spell, i need one to call/summon my POB Weapon.

Thoughts/answers?