Do multiple beams from Eldritch Blast happen simultaneously or not by RAW?


After reading Can you move between the separate attacks of a spell?, I was quite surprised to learn that eldritch blast can be considered to not fire the beams simultaneously.

Given that the spell’s duration is instantaneous, I assumed it was clean cut that they all fired simultaneously. However, Crawford seems to think differently:

Jeremy Soard: @JeremyECrawford Eldritch Blast: are the attacks resolved in parallel or sequence? Do you have to pick all the targets first before rolling?

JeremyECrawford: Multiple attacks on the same turn aren’t simultaneous, unless a feature or spell says otherwise.

However, there are many who don’t accept Crawford’s rulings as being meaningful. However, it is enough for me to realise that it’s not as clean cut as I originally assumed.

I’m interested in knowing what the RAW interpretation is, discounting the above information from Crawford.

So, based on RAW, meaning only what’s printed in a published book, do multiple beams from eldritch blast happen simultaneously or not?

Note that I haven’t found any duplicate Q&As on this site, except possibly those that use the above quote from Crawford as an answer. I’m specifically asking about a RAW-only interpretation.