Do the attunement requirements of the Hammer of Thunderbolts make it situational?


The properties of the Hammer of Thunderbolts seem to suggest to me that (for the vast majority of the time) the player owning this item will not have it attuned. How do you rule on the current attunement status of this item, given that players will almost certainly not “live” in their Gauntlets of Ogre Power?

You must be wearing a belt of giant strength (any variety) and gauntlets of ogre power to attune to this weapon. The attunement ends if you take off either of those items.

I can certainly see very specific cases say for example when the owner takes a specific short rest prior to entering the tower to specifically re-attune the weapon, but what about for encounters where there is less opportunity to plan. What about encounters that happen several hours after a short rest where the player might reasonably have been expected to take their gauntlets off to eat, drink, shake hands, wipe their brow, read a map, go to the bathroom…

I’m not asking about whether the gauntlets must be attuned to, as I believe that question has been settled and only wearing them is required. See this unofficial tweet by rules designer Jeremy Crawford from January 2018:

Hammer of thunderbolts has a special property that requires you to be wearing two other specific magic items. The text of hammer of thunderbolts doesn’t say you must be attuned to them.

SPECIFIC QUESTION:

How should I rule on the current attunement status of this item, given that players will almost certainly not “live” in their Gauntlets of Ogre Power?