Do the Illusionist’s Bracers with the War Caster feat let you take a bonus action on somebody else’s turn? [duplicate]

So basically this answer states:

[…] The War Caster feat says:

When a hostile creature’s movement provokes an opportunity attack from you, you can use your reaction to cast a spell at the creature, rather than making an opportunity attack. The spell must have a casting time of 1 action and must target only that creature.

The current text of Illusionist’s Bracers says:

While wearing the bracers, whenever you cast a cantrip, you can use a bonus action on the same turn to cast that cantrip a second time. […]

[…] So read Illusionist’s Bracers again, and it sure looks like this:

  1. On a creature’s turn, the creature provokes an opportunity attack from a war caster with Illusionist’s Bracers.
  2. The war caster casts a cantrip at the creature as a reaction.
  3. The Illusionist’s Bracers grants a bonus action to the war caster that can be used on that same turn.
  4. The war caster casts the cantrip again with that bonus action, not on the war caster’s turn. […]

Really my question is simply whether or not this is correct. If something would let you take a bonus action when it is not your turn, can you take that bonus action?