Does a druid starting with a bow start with no arrows?

A druid’s starting equipment consists of:

  • (a) a wooden shield or (b) any simple weapon
  • (a) a scimitar or (b) any simple melee weapon
  • Leather armor, an explorer’s pack, and a druidic focus

So, it seems that I can take the “any simple weapon” option and select a shortbow. However, the starting equipment makes no mention of any ammunition, so it seems that if I choose a ranged weapon to start with, I will be unable to use it. This seems a bit counter-intuitive, both in terms of mechanics and role-playing.

Am I correct in reading that a druid who starts with a bow will have no ammunition for it? Is there an implied expectation that I will spend some of my starting money to buy ammunition at my earliest convenience? Or is there a rule I’m missing somewhere that says a character starting with a ranged weapon also starts with some amount of ammunition for it?