Does an artificer’s teammate have to re-attune to their infused items every time the infusions change?

Per the artificer rules…

If the item requires attunement, you can attune yourself to it the instant you infuse the item.

Okay. Nice. Great. Except… how does it work when the item is given to another character?

Let’s picture these scenarios: Scenario one. My artificer has created an Resistant Armor, choosing poison. This armor has been given to our paladin, who attuned to it. Now, next long rest, I want to create an Resistant Armor, choosing force. The rules are silent on whether I can attempt to create an infusion I already have existing (as opposed to infusing random other infusions until that one de-infuses) or in fact use the item the previous copy of that infusion is already on. Let’s assume I can.

… but I don’t want to attune to the resulting infusion, so does that mean that, as soon as we finish the long rest, we must immediately do a short rest so the paladin can attune to the armor?

In fact, it doesn’t even end there!

If you try to exceed your maximum number of infusions, the oldest infusion ends, and then the new infusion applies.

Notably, there doesn’t seem to be a process to voluntarily end one of my infusions. Let’s suppose my current infusions are Repeating Weapon, Replicate Magic Item: Alchemy Jug and the aforementioned Resistant Armor: Force. I want to replace the jug with a Mind Sharpener. The only process for this seems to be infusing my chosen item with the Mind Sharpener, causing the Repeating Weapon to end…. then reapply the Repeating Weapon…. which ends the Resistant Armor, requiring me to reapply that, and us to take another short rest to reattune to it!

Is all the above correct, or is there something I’m missing?