Does Elemental Affinity apply to Create Bonfire?

Elemental Affinity

Starting at 6th level, when you cast a spell that deals damage of the type associated with your draconic ancestry, add your Charisma modifier to that damage. At the same time, you can spend 1 sorcery point to gain resistance to that damage type for 1 hour.

Create Bonfire:

You create a bonfire on ground that you can see within range. Until the spell ends, the magic bonfire fills a 5-foot cube. Any creature in the bonfire’s space when you cast the spell must succeed on a Dexterity saving throw or take 1d8 fire damage. A creature must also make the saving throw when it moves into the bonfire’s space for the first time on a turn or ends its turn there.

The spell does not deal damage directly, it creates a bonfire, and the bonfire can potentially deal damage. But then perhaps that’s the same as creating a fireball, the spell doesn’t deal damage, the giant burning ball of flame it creates deals damage.

However, create Bonfire is Conjuration, whereas Fireball is Evocation, so perhaps it’s different.

I suppose the difference is that it could be a few turns later that someone steps in the fire and gets burned.

Does it count?