Does Fairy Fire provokes a saving throw?


Does the 5e D&D spell Fairy Fire provoke a Dexterity saving throw? Part of the description states “Any creature in the area when the spell is cast is also outlined in light if it fails a Dexterity saving throw.” It does not state that the creatures in the area of effect must make a save. It is missing the usual conditional statement: “The target must succeed on a (X) saving throw or (Y)”. In other words, does a creature in the area of effect of the Fairy Fire when it cast have to make a save?

To me this sounds as if a creature is outlined in light when it fails a dexterity saving throw while simultaneously finding itself in the area of effect of fairy fire while the spell is being cast. These are hard conditions to meet.