Does hurling a thrown weapon change the weapon’s category for determining proficiency?


On Weapon Categories says, “A melee weapon with the heavy thrown or the light thrown property counts as a ranged weapon when thrown” (Player’s Handbook 215). (Similar text is absent from the Rules Compendium, but I’m not familiar enough with 4e to know if this absence is an issue.)

With this in mind, if a character who has proficiency with military melee weapons but lacks proficiency with military ranged weapons throws a handaxe—a military weapon—, does the character still receive his proficiency bonus on the attack roll?

That is, when a military melee weapon is thrown does the military melee weapon remain a melee military weapon therefore the character above gains his proficiency bonus with it? Or does the thrown military melee weapon now count as a military ranged weapon therefore the character above does not gain his proficiency bonus with it? Or is this even more—or less!—complex than I’m imagining?


Note: My level 3 battlemind who has Strength 10, Dexterity 12, proficiency with simple and military ranged weapons, and proficiency only with simple ranged weapons will still normally make his ranged basic attacks with daggers—preferring accuracy to damage—, but I want to assess my future options just in case. Also, I know I’m late to the party, and I apologize if this is a topic that’s already been discussed to death elsewhere.