Does Improved Abjuration affects spells that only offer an option of having an ability check?


Consider the Abjuration Wizard’s 10th level feature:

Improved Abjuration

Beginning at 10th level, when you cast an abjuration spell that requires you to make an ability check as a part of casting that spell (as in Counterspell and Dispel Magic), you add your proficiency bonus to that ability check.

Some spells, such as Telekinesis, include cases where an ability check is required, either as soon as the spell is casted, or later one.

If the object is worn or carried by a creature, you must make an ability check with your spellcasting ability contested by that creature’s Strength check.

  1. Does an Abjuration Wizard ever adds his proficiency bonus when casting Telekinesis?
  2. If so, does that only apply to the case where a check is made on the same turn as the casting?