Does it take your action every turn to make a Carpet of Flying move?


A Carpet of Flying has the following text:

You can speak the carpet’s command word as an action to make the carpet hover and fly. It moves according to your spoken directions, provided that you are within 30 feet of it.

What I’m unsure here is whether you must use your action every turn in order to command the carpet to move, or if the action is just a one-time thing to activate the carpet in the first place (thus taking no action to command the carpet to move).