Does Strahd’s unarmed strike deal full damage if used to grapple?


In the text of Strahd’s Unarmed Strike, it says (emphasis mine):

If the target is a creature, Strahd can grapple it […] instead of dealing bludgeoning damage.

This seems to be copy/pasted from the vampire stat block, which makes sense since a vampire deals bludgeoning damage with its unarmed strike.

However, Strahd’s unarmed strike deals slashing and necrotic damage.

Should Strahd’s stat block say he can grapple instead of dealing the slashing damage, or is he supposed to be able to do full damage and grapple since he’s the "final boss" of the campaign?

Has this been addressed in any errata?