Does Telekinetic Projectile allow choosing both projectile and target within range even if they are further apart than 30 feet?


Telekinetic Projectile allows you to "hurl [an] object that is within range […] at the target". The spell’s range is 30 feet.

My reading of this is that both the target and the object must be picked from within 30 feet from the caster. But nothing states that the path that the projectile flies (from object to target) must be less than 30 feet.

Are my assumptions correct or have I missed any relevant rules?

Also, if so, does the path between them have to be clear as to not provide Cover for the target?

Object <- 30ft -> caster <- 30ft -> target        <-         ~60ft          ->