Does the ability score modifier go in the large box or the small oval?


When filling in the ability scores section of the standard character sheet as used in the D&D 5e Player’s Handbook, I’ve seen a lot of people put each ability score in the large box, and the corresponding ability score modifier in the small oval below it. This makes sense to some because that’s the order you’re writing it from top to bottom.

However, it seems more practical to put the ability score modifier in the large box, since that’s almost always the number you need to look at, and the ability score in the small oval.

Is there any official ruling on this, or other evidence to suggest which approach (if either) is official, standard, or more correct?