Does the Protection from Evil and Good spell protect against the Staff of the Forgotten One from Tomb of Annihilation?

Under the item description of the Staff of the Forgotten One in the ToA Hardcover, we see that a spirit inside the staff might try to possess the wielder:

The Protection from Evil and Good spell can protect against some kinds of possession:

Until the spell ends, one willing creature you touch is protected against certain types of creatures: aberrations, celestials, elementals, fey, fiends, and undead. […] The target also can’t be charmed, frightened, or possessed by them. […]

If I were under the effect of Protection from Evil and Good, am I immune from getting possessed by the ghost of the staff?