Does the Scatter spell actually scatter the targets?

Based on the spell’s name, you would think that all of the targets would end up all over the playing field, but per the Scatter spell description:

The air quivers around up to five creatures of your choice that you can see within range. An unwilling creature must succeed on a Wisdom saving throw to resist this spell. You teleport each affected target to an unoccupied space that you can see within 120 feet of you. That space must be on the ground or on a floor.

But there are two ways to read this;

  1. This is a many-to-one reading. Each of the up to five creatures are teleported to an unoccupied space. So all five go to one space.
  2. Each is for both target and destination. Each target is teleported to each target’s unique designated unoccupied space.

My issue is, that the first interpretation is more “plain English” whereas the second is “loosely based”.

So does Scatter really scatter, or does Scatter just teleport up to 5 people as a cluster to a single location?